Beginning January 1, 2022, Michigan workers will see an automated increase in their pay declarations. In the new year, Michigan staff members will be ensured a minimum wage of $9.87 per hour. This is a boost from the previous $9.65 per hour staff members were receiving after an increase in March of 2019.
The boost to $9.87 was scheduled to take place in 2021. Nevertheless, since the typical joblessness rate for 2020 was above 8.5%, the rate increase did not take place. As readers understand, the State of Michigan saw record high unemployment due to the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020. It is not likely we will see such a joblessness rate again.
This current boost is the third of twelve increases set up to happen up until the Michigan base pay reaches $12.05 as needed Michigan Put together Laws 408.934. The base pay is set to increase to $12.05 on January 1, 2030.
This increase, along with the boosts to come, are an outcome of Public Act 368 of 2018 which was signed into law on December 14, 2018. This Act came after a tally proposal which would have put the concern on the tally for the November 2018 general election. Rather of leaving the issues to citizens, the Michigan Legislature acted quickly codifying the problem and guaranteeing pay boosts for Michigan employees.
This increase, and the increases to come, can result in many different concerns guaranteeing you are receiving correct payment or paying your staff members the proper quantity. If you have any questions about the minimum wage increase(s), or other wage and hour issues, please contact lawyer Tim P. Seeger at Grewal Law PLLC for assistance.